top of page

What are the Chakras ?


Imagine seven 'wheels' of energy spinning in your body along its centerline, from the base of your spine to the top of your head. These subtle energy channels each correspond to different areas of the body as well as specific life situations. They channel energy to where it's needed, for optimal health and wellbeing. In many ways the chakras are like intersections in a busy city. They channel traffic, and the traffic grid is designed to keep traffic flowing freely. But as we have all experienced, city traffic can easily become snarled. All it takes is one angry or insensitive driver blocking an intersection, and everything comes to a stop. Traffic 'upstream' from the blockage becomes an impassable domino effect of cars clogging the streets and blocking other intersections. And 'downstream', the streets are empty. Starting at the bottom of the line of chakras, we find the first chakra or the Root Chakra, located at the base of the spine. It corresponds to the physical body and connection to the Earth. Just up from the root chakra is the Sacral Chakra. This is the seat of kundalini energy, sexuality, pleasure, intimacy, creativity and the joys of life. Moving up, the Solar Plexus Chakra is the center of your personal power. Physically, it is located about two inches below the breastbone. It is the seat of your ego, willpower, passions and ambition. The fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra, the center for love and spirituality. Love doesn't mean only love for others; it also applies to self-love and self-acceptance. This chakra is located right next to your physical heart - which is why, when you are struggling in this chakra, you may experience heartache! The fifth chakra is next in line. The Throat Chakra is your communication center - your voice, your creative self-expression. The throat chakra is also responsible for truth, honesty and integrity Your sixth chakra is the Third Eye Chakra (or brow chakra). It sits just between and above the eyes and it is responsile for psychic abilities such as intuition as well as your sense of purpose in life.

Finally, we reach the Crown Chakra located at the top of your head. This is the connection between you and the divine. It is responsible for spirituality and enlightenment.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page